The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to get my 79 mesa serviced but I'm not sure If should I'm a little worried something will happen. I was told to get in contact with Paul Gamache from Moncton. Have any of you dealt with him if so is he really certified by mesa like I'm told. I've talked to him all ready he seems nice enough I have a quote of around $400-$500 that's every thing done over caps,filters ,tubes ect . But I've never done this before is that a good price or too much what do you guys think? Thanks in advance Jared

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
26,167 Posts
Well is there anything "wrong" with it? Exactly how much do you need to get replaced?
Generally, people will charge for bench time by the hour, and the estimate will be based on the bench time required to do all the things requested. You can shorten the bench time by reducing the time the repair person has to spend disassembling and reassembling. Takje the amp out of the cab, bring it to the guy, find out what really needs replacement or tweaking, and then talk price.

·
Registered
3,184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Well is there anything "wrong" with it? Exactly how much do you need to get replaced?
Generally, people will charge for bench time by the hour, and the estimate will be based on the bench time required to do all the things requested. You can shorten the bench time by reducing the time the repair person has to spend disassembling and reassembling. Takje the amp out of the cab, bring it to the guy, find out what really needs replacement or tweaking, and then talk price.
Well um it quite once when I first got it a cap went . The tech that worked on it then said the filter caps needed done. I know the tubes aren't a matched set witch I'd like to get matching. I haven't really had any problems after that witch is why I'm wondering . Or should I just buy a new set of tubes

·
Registered