The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,973 Posts
I love EMGS. They are great pickups. I think they are best used with rack units. I also love Evans which get alot of the benefits of actives, only they are passive pickups, but then you had them in the old Signature...............

·
Premium Member
17,248 Posts
Well, I have been using EMGs for many years and having tried all manner of passives including expensive boutique brands like Kinmans and Fralins as well as more garden variety SDs and DiMarzios I'm quite happy with the EMGs.

All of my electric guitars and even my lap steel are so equipped.

·
Premium Member
2,973 Posts
That guitar is a Signature Oracle. They were built by Larrivee in BC, and finished by the Signature Guitar Company in Aurora, Ontario. That one was especially tasty as it was neckthrubody, had a nice quilt top, and had Evans pickups..................

·
Registered
698 Posts
It's like anything else really - different tools for different jobs. I don't try to play metal on my strat with Kinmans, and I don't try to play blues on the Ibanez. I do want a EMG loaded guitar (don't currently have one). Soon hopefully.

·
Premium Member
17,248 Posts
Emohawk said:
It's like anything else really - different tools for different jobs. I don't try to play metal on my strat with Kinmans, and I don't try to play blues on the Ibanez. I do want a EMG loaded guitar (don't currently have one). Soon hopefully.

In my opinion, it's a popular misconception that EMGs are not suitable for genres outside of high gain metal.

Simply not true. I'm doing classic rock covers with my original stuff mixed in and have gradually converted ALL my guitars to EMGs.

It's all in the hands man.

·
Premium Member
2,973 Posts