The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I said I wasnt going to build any more guitars for a while... I meant electrics! I decided to tackle a project I have been mulling over for about 8 months.

I ordered some AAA flamed maple back and sides and some sitka spruce wedges for the top from A&M Wood specialty in Cambridge on FRiday. I have the book and been reading it for months, but I also ordered the 9 hour 4 DVD set today from Stew MAc. I will start this soon, but I think it will take me a little longer than my average electric solidbody. I have built one acoustic and bent the sides for my archtop (that had the plywood top and back) so I have a little bit of experience with acoustic construction.

ANyhow, it should be fun! :)

AJC

·
Registered
137 Posts
Cool. What do you plan on using to carve the top & back? When I made a couple violins I bought four of those little bronze finger planes and a really nice gouge. I wore a thick-palmed weight lifters glove when using the gouge so I didn't get blisters on my palm. It was tough work at times but fun & rewarding. Good Luck.

·
Registered
644 Posts
Very cool A.J.

I had the opportunity to look through that book at my brothers place last summer. I've been meaning to order it. I absolutly love arch tops. I look forward to seeing your results.

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I actually just saw a tool on the back of the new Lee Valley catalogue that I think will be perfect for carving the inside of the top/back.

Its called a pull shave, and I ordered one up. I am sure it will come in handy for my regular work as well.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=1&p=54888&cat=1,310