The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
9,502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I have this song that I have been playing for about 4 years. There is one little bitch of a riff that I can't still get on a consistent basis. It's an AC/DC song but you already knew that. lol It's the opening riff. Anyone else have this problem? Maybe not this particular song but something else?

I have isolated this riff and practiced over and over and over. I still keep trying. Who knows, it just may happen one day.

@0:43 is the example. That stupid little easy peasy riff. I shake my head.

·
Registered
9,502 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I love Carl's lessons. I don't really need a lesson. My fingers know where to go but it's getting everything in sync. I am befuddled.

·
Registered
18,577 Posts
Keep practicing. One of these days, it will all fall in place. You've no doubt see this happen with other riffs, songs in the past.

·
Registered
9,502 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Keep practicing. One of these days, it will all fall in place. You've no doubt see this happen with other riffs, songs in the past.
I have but I was able to conquer the few that I couldn't get in a very short time period not 4 years! WTF

L

·
0 Posts
I have but I was able to conquer the few that I couldn't get in a very short time period not 4 years! WTF
4 years!? Yeah, what the heck, might as well toss in the towel and move onto another song already.:rolleyes:

As steadly points out .. perseverance. It'll eventually kick in and that 'eureka!' moment will feel great.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Play the lick very slow to start and work from there. It'll come along.

Edit: That's how I learn, then I'll leave it alone for a few days and come back to it again.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
if you can't make it that means that you learnt it incorrectly and your fingers are stumbling on the same issues over and over again.