The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing for 2 1/2 years and just tonight I realized how much the sound of your guitar depends largly on what part of your finger you use to fret. When I used the meat of my fingers to fret (not quite the tip of the finger) the sound of the guitar was typical, nothing special. When I used the very tip of my fingers to fret, the guitar came alive. The notes had more chime and sustain. The notes sounded much more solid. My guitar (01' S+P) sounded like it was worth 10 time what I paid for it. It's funny to think of how much money people waste on products to improve their tone when all it comes down to is how you play your guitar. I used to be one of thoes people (I'm glad I haven't spent too much money on snake oil). I have now realized to sound good on guitar, it's not the guitar you play, it's technique more than anything else.

·
Registered
255 Posts
yup you are correct with what you are saying..I find if I have been playing a lot my finger tips soften and make the clarity and sustain of the notes diminish. If I give myself a bit of a break and let my finger tips harden up the playing and clarity becomes more alive!

·
Registered
208 Posts
Rest is a good idea

Stopping to rest not only lets the callouses dry out but also provides an opportunity to head off the debilitating effects of stenosing tenosynovitis. That wordy-sounding condition is a form of tendonitis sometimes called 'trigger finger', where the tensor tendons (the ones that give your hand its grip) develop little nodes which eventually hang up in the pulleys, causing the fingers to lock up. Some of us call it "barre cramp" which is actually a warning sign as the tendons in the BACK of the hand begin to get sore from unflexing the fingers.....