The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question regarding installing a speaker!!!!
I have a 1x12 cab with solderless clips attached to the 1/4 input jack on the back of the cab. The solderless clips have no + or - markings just black & white wires.The black & white wires are connected (soldered) to the input jack
I am not sure how to connect the clips to the speakers regarding matching the + & - metal clips???
Is it safe to assume black is negative and white positive??..Does it matter????there are no markings on the input jack either, so, I am a little wary how to approach this!
Also, when I bought the new speaker it came with what appears to be gasket seals???semi circle strips I assume used to apply on the outer edge of the speaker when attaching to the cab...are the strips necessary???
This is my first attempt at installing a speaker, so to say I am clueless is an understatement...
Hoping for guidance...
The laughter starts.................................................Now!

·
Registered
1,891 Posts
With a single speaker, it won't matter. If you plugged into a second cab, you could have phasing issues.

The signal (+) on a 1/4" plug is on the tip. You can see on the plug a black ring separating the tip from the rest of the plug.

Is the jack like the one on the left or on the right?

On the left: The signal will come out on the farthest lugs from the insertion point.

On the right: The signal will come out on the longer spring part. You should be able to visually follow it and see which lug it is attached to.

This makes sense to me but I have been doing this for 20 years. Does it make sense to you?