The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 123 Posts

·
Premium Member
552 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to say good morning because it is quite early here. I'm new to this forum but I've been building guitars as a hobby for the last 5 or 6 years. I have a full time job and a family so I do not move very fast but I have managed to build 4 guitars for myself, and about the same number of full guitars for other people. I have also done a lot of kits and custom designs for people on forums like this one.

I've always been interested in vintage guitars and more recently Gibson late 50s and early 60s guitars. My first guitar builds were patterned on a '59 LP burst, a '54 LP junior, and a '63 Rickenbacker 360.
IMG_5660.JPG

Someone on another forum approached me to build them a '57 Futura and I jumped at the opportunity. I actually finished that up and shipped it off but I had built a body and started a neck for myself. I want to finish that one off. I'll catch up on what I did and then continue on to finish my Futura.

The Futura was the prototype to the Explorer. After a little research here is what I found. It showed up at the NAMM show in 1957.
1957_namm_show_gibson_futura_guitar_small.jpg

There were also some diagrams floating around from the original patent.
patent.JPG

There is good story about one of the prototypes that surfaced in the mid '70s. Kurt Linhof was a guitar collector and seller of vintage guitars. He was driving to a guitar shop in Texas and drove by a house where there was a guitar on the front porch. The owner was a blues musician, Ponty "Guitar" Gonzales, who was using the guitar as art work and used to drive around with it in the window of his Cadillac. It turned out to be one of the 4 - 6 prototypes created. I believe it was the only one made with a korina body and mahogany neck. The others were all mahogany or all korina ( FYI - korina is also known as white limba).