The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, recently I decided I would start building my own amps. I started with a simple, small, 1 Watt Trinity TriFly with an eye to cutting my teeth. I was a complete NOOB! The build went reasonably well (didn't die) so I moved on to what I really wanted: an 18 Watt Plexi.

I ordered the 18 Watt (w/ 6V6 option + Sozos/VRM) kit from Trinity and went off to the races...sort of. What I learned was that I was still a compete NOOB. The learning curve here was fairly steep. Still, with some patience (mine and Stephen Cohrs' at Trinity- mostly Stephen's), I was able to work through some issues (bad resistor, one wiring, a missing part or two).

I also must confess that I took the build to see Rob @ classicsamps.com. Rob spotted an issue or two (my doing) and recommended a slight tweak - which I incorporated; a worthwhile visit to Cambridge.

In the end, I have an amaziing sounding 18 Watt Marshall clone. I opted NOT to install the VRM. Yes, the amp is loud but it is glorious and was built to be played LOUD. Someday, I will try to upload some clips. For now, here is a pictorial walk-through of the build.

Attachments

Reactions: greco

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Motr pics...assembled board enters chassis...leads everywhere!

And the last shot is of the final, completed chassis.

Attachments

Reactions: greco

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Final product...Looking good!!!

So, one last confession: I enjoyed building the cabinet and it went really well...except for the Tolex. I have discoveredd that not only do I not like Tolex but I will NEVER, ever work with the stuff ever again. So, the credit for the cab in the picture goes to Derek Bell...who fortuitously just happened to have a can up for sale on kijiji. Tone Gods be praised.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks. That is a fun aspect of the build.

·