• Someone told me that Yngwie was in here

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Though I've been a guitarist for a relatively large number of years, only recently have I involved myself in a few of the many guitar communities found on the web.

Conversely, having become somewhat of a programmer in comparatively less years, I've spent countless hours participating in so-called "geek" communities on the web.

The similarities between the two types of communities are many. A few that spring to mind:
  • a general and oftentimes overwhelming enthusiasm for the topic
  • a healthy mixture of professionals, hobbyists, tweakers, and n00bs
  • a large male:female disparity
Of course, as with all communities, there are some differences. Most of them are minor but there is one that concerns me; nomenclature. Specifically the incorrect use of "+1" as an increment operator.

The purpose of this post is to illustrate, in a totally petty, pedantic, and wholly tongue-in-cheek manner, that the use of "+1" is incorrect and that the correct nomenclature is in fact "++" as used in most "geek" communities.

To whit:

<?php
$foo = 'A sentence within which an opinion I share is contained.';

$bar = $foo + 1;
echo "foo plus one: " . $bar . "\n";

$baz = $foo++;
echo "foo plus plus: " . $baz . "\n";
?>
// Results
foo plus one: 1
foo plus plus: A sentence within which an opinion I share is contained.
Though you may be unfamiliar with the code, the results speak for themselves. Adding 1 to "A sentence within which an opinion I share is contained" results in 1. Whereas incrementing "A sentence within which an opinion I share is contained." with the ++ operator results in "A sentence within which an opinion I share is contained."