View Full Version : Fakes?
MXDAD
05-04-2007, 03:55 PM
Are these fakes or just a take your money and run scam….?
http://www.cityofguitar.com
A reference to this online store showed up in my local Kijiji Ottawa today.
JSD's Guitar Shack
05-04-2007, 04:01 PM
Yep, those are Chinese knock offs.
GuitaristZ
05-04-2007, 04:02 PM
You are now located in the city of guitar.
We offer what you want.
This guitar will arrive at you in original case.
The gross price for this guitar is 550 dollars, all included.
No additional charge for cases or handling fee.
Free shipping for guitars all over our city.
We deserve your choice.
If you love guitar,
please come back to our shop;
please recommend us to your friends;
please add us to your favorite sites.
Always we are trying our best.
Always we are offering lowest price.
Always we are satisfying everyone.
:eek: :confused-smiley-010 :banana:
violation
05-04-2007, 04:07 PM
Site isn't loading for me... I saw some on eBay that said Gibsun on the headstock, haha.
Robboman
05-04-2007, 04:16 PM
Wow, that's blatant!
As I remarked to Mr. Mingo from these boards:
I wonder what legally grey country their servers are running in, 'cause otherwise they aren't going to last very long. :tongue:
Skoczylas
05-04-2007, 05:02 PM
We are the most professinal guitar sale website in the world.
-----
You know something is bad when they spell professional wrong.
GuitaristZ
05-04-2007, 05:03 PM
We are the most professinal guitar sale website in the world.
-----
You know something is bad when they spell professional wrong.
:tongue: thats just rediculous
:tongue: thats just rediculous
Good one. :banana:
KHINGPYNN
05-04-2007, 05:26 PM
How ironic to spell professional wrong. Look at that Gibson headstock standard symbol... CRAZY. I would not want that to aRRIVE TO ME ANYDAY.
kHING
Skoczylas
05-04-2007, 05:44 PM
Their Gibson supreme is a 'Les Daul' maybe it's just the font thats getting to me.
And don't forget their guitars are made in the USA.. yet their missing the "S" and you can cleary see on this fender that it's made else where.
http://www.cityofguitar.com/graph/P1090414_.JPG
hahaha, had to add this one.. Never knew Ibanez were ESP's
http://www.cityofguitar.com/product_info.php?cPath=23&products_id=46
GuitarsCanada
05-04-2007, 05:48 PM
Get one while you can, they wont be on sale for very long.
GuitaristZ
05-04-2007, 05:55 PM
Get one while you can, they wont be on sale for very long.
are these guitars really trash...or are they actually not that bad?
J S Moore
05-04-2007, 06:20 PM
Those are the same guitars I have seen on ebay for less than $10.00US. I think that might answer the question.
I am pretty certain these are being made after hours in some factory in China. It might actually be the Epiphone factory but they should be able to get the proportions correct if that's the case.
GuitarsCanada
05-04-2007, 06:21 PM
You never can tell, until you try one out. They will probably play, but the hardware and pick-ups, pots etc are most likely the cheapest thing out there.
GuitaristZ
05-04-2007, 06:31 PM
You never can tell, until you try one out. They will probably play, but the hardware and pick-ups, pots etc are most likely the cheapest thing out there.
so I could buy a guitar for 10.00$ on ebay :o
I would buy it just to smash haha...seriously...where can I find these 10.00$ guitars? :rockon:
violation
05-04-2007, 06:52 PM
so I could buy a guitar for 10.00$ on ebay :o
I would buy it just to smash haha...seriously...where can I find these 10.00$ guitars? :rockon:
Yeah, but they're located in China. Add the shipping and customs shit and you might as well straight up buy an Epiphone.
dwagar
05-04-2007, 07:16 PM
yeah, they are $10, but you have to add $300 for freight.
and you get a guitar that is worth $10. Complete POS.
When you think about it, if they were decent, they could sell them inexpensively with their own brand name on them.
hmm
I recall an article where a guy in the States was charged with Fraud for selling one of these, within the US. Some kid bought one, for something like $1000, found out it was a fake, and called the Attorney General's Office. That's what we have to start doing here too. It isn't just a fake, selling it as a Fender or Gibson is fraud.
Lester B. Flat
05-04-2007, 07:32 PM
The twelfth fret marker on 3 pickup custom has something written in Chinese. I think it translates as "sucker".
violation
05-05-2007, 07:52 PM
Haha, I reported one of their ads (got deleted and banned by Kijiji guys) and they posted another one today saying:
"I am a serious seller, that is why I try my best to establish and advertise my website.
I am not a scam, those who are not interested in my website and items please shut up and stop sending jam to me."
:rockon2:
jimmy peters
05-05-2007, 09:59 PM
REMEMBER------
" IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE,
IT USUALLY IS"
good luck
jimmy peters
GuitaristZ
05-05-2007, 11:21 PM
Haha, I reported one of their ads (got deleted and banned by Kijiji guys) and they posted another one today saying:
"I am a serious seller, that is why I try my best to establish and advertise my website.
I am not a scam, those who are not interested in my website and items please shut up and stop sending jam to me."
:rockon2:
sending jam? I wonder what types of jam he has received already haha!
violation
05-06-2007, 01:06 AM
Just got another one deleted... I'll just keep reporting them and hopefully he'll go away. Only takes 2 seconds to report, no harm doin' it.
They're posting on Craigslist now as well. I flagged the ad for deletion and posted my own ad trying to warn people off of them (which will get deleted as well, but hopefully some people read it).
Anybody else notice that the top five Strats all have the same serial number(DZ 1211788)? Even the red headstock has the same number.
SCREEM
05-06-2007, 08:46 AM
Anybody else notice that the top five Strats all have the same serial number(DZ 1211788)? Even the red headstock has the same number. crazy stuff http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g176/SCREEMER123/laughhard.gif
Robert1950
05-06-2007, 12:41 PM
I wonder how long it will take this guy to realize how incompetent he is.
I reported it to the Vancouver link of Kijiji this morning and just received this reply:
"Thank you for contacting Kijiji Canada Community Support.
We believe this ad is fraudulent. As such we have deleted it as well as banned this user from the Kijiji community.
Again thanks for taking the time to send this to our attention."
violation
05-06-2007, 09:32 PM
I reported it to the Vancouver link of Kijiji this morning and just received this reply:
"Thank you for contacting Kijiji Canada Community Support.
We believe this ad is fraudulent. As such we have deleted it as well as banned this user from the Kijiji community.
Again thanks for taking the time to send this to our attention."
Same here... 3 times so far, lol.
This one is good too. http://www.dhgate.com/productdetail_402880481197c94401119853ed1034b9_kZ2 lic29u.html They are selling a "Gibson Les Paul" direct from their own factory in China. :rolleyes:
GuitarsCanada
05-07-2007, 11:37 AM
Right on. It is "very perfect" and only $179.00. A must have.
Don't forget that it comes with "free gift that has the Chinese features". :tongue:
jimmy peters
05-07-2007, 09:56 PM
:eek: :confused-smiley-010 :banana:
check out his reveiws.
jimmy peters
llol
check out his reveiws.
jimmy peters
llol
You mean his feedback? I like this one, "i reveive the guitar in a package very well thank for you i'm very happy the guitar is wonderfull"
violation
05-13-2007, 11:49 AM
More fakes they're posting on Kijiji now: http://www.instrument365.com/
These ones are even worse...
Fake:
http://www.fritra.com/graph/P1040606_.JPG
Real:
http://www.epiphone.com/ZakkUPCLOSE/RT1.jpg
"I will give you my most beautiful and best things.These will give you good lucky and you will be happy.we honesty treat each customer,
I will be great pleasure for yours patronage and I'm looking forward to your discussion with me about craft arts or Musical instrument ."
Haha.
GuitarsCanada
05-13-2007, 11:52 AM
You would think that the least they could do was to find someone that could write up those things properly. Anyone reading it would get turned off right away. Not to mention the rip-off factor
Robert1950
05-13-2007, 04:27 PM
Are my eyes seeing right here? Something looks a little crooked, and I don't mean the operation either.
http://www.fritra.com/graph/P1070842_.JPG
JSD's Guitar Shack
05-13-2007, 07:47 PM
Are my eyes seeing right here? Something looks a little crooked, and I don't mean the operation either.
http://www.fritra.com/graph/P1070842_.JPG
Haha, yeah I've seen that on a lot of those fakes, they can't seem to get the tone and volume pots in the same position every time....:tongue:
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.